< link rel="DCTERMS.isreplacedby" href="http://davejustus.com/" >

Friday, February 25, 2005

Book Recommendation

I have just finished reading the Golden Age trilogy (The Golden Age, The Phoenix Exultant, and The Golden Transcendence) by John C. Wright and I highly recommend them. It is classic Sci-Fi in the tradition of Asimov and Heinlein. As well as having a gripping plot and interesting characters the series also has a lot of philosophy and plays around with theories of government and economics. The final conflict in the series is more of a philosophical battle than an action sequence (although their is plenty of action as well.) The conflict is between two governing systems, that of the Sophotechs (Wise Machines) and the Philanthrotechs (Benevolent Machines). The Sophotechs believe that human dignity and freedom are absolute and should be allowed regardless of costs and that the only legitimate use of force is to prevent others from using force. The Philanthrotechs on the other hand believe that it is more important to prevent pain and suffering and to ensure the survival of humanity even if that means liberty must be curtailed.


Post a Comment

<< Home